I was very amused when I came across this article about “Crocs,” because I had recently purchased a pair of black rubbery shoes with holes in them for wearing in the garden so that I wouldn’t track dirt in the house. As it turns out, they are not so practical, because dirt and water actually gets IN them, and your feet get very dirty if you’re not wearing socks. They are cute in a funny sort of way, but essentially ugly, I thought, and not smart for wearing beyond the backyard. I purchased them at a local supermarket for around eight dollars, not, apparently on sale (an “everyday low price”) and, actually, I thought that was too pricey for plastic clogs.  Among the bright colors offered, I selected the understated and more sophisticated black ones (figuring they would get dirty).  I wore them once beyond the garden, when shopping, and imagined that people were looking at my feet.

So, imagine my surprise when I was visiting Boston and saw the same exact shoes on sale at a vendors stall in the fashionable Quincy Market for $29.99, before tax.  And imagine my further surprise when I saw a number of people wearing them, and in all the vivid colors, no less. And then I came upon this article in which a city resident bemoans what he deems an ugly “fashion trend,” these “clown shoes” that he calls “crocs,” and remarks that some people will pay as much as $35 for them. He complains that he can’t get away from them and that people even wear them in restaurants.  Of course, I googled “crocs” and found that I was hopelessly out of touch here and those plastic things I purchased were actually Croc knock-offs, sans the little crocodile emblem on the button!   

This article, by the way, is followed by 26 pages of comments, mostly by Croc devotees defending their odd shoes, some who own five pairs in various colors.  I am now pleased with my Croc-offs, and might even venture to wear them beyond the garden.

 

'Crocs' shoes, available at Whole Foods for $29.99.

